Skip to content

Parish Government

Iberville Parish is governed by a Home Rule Charter form of government, with an elected Parish President overseeing daily operations and a Parish Council elected from single member districts. The parish's six municipalities operate with elected mayors and boards. The Parish set is Plaquemine. The Parish President is J. Mitchell Ourso, Jr. and the Parish Council members include include Warren "T-notchie" Taylor, Mitchel J. Ourso, Henry J. Scott, Jr., Leonard "Buck" Jackson, Edwin Reeves, Jr., Salaris G. Butler, Howard Oubre, Jr., Hunter S. Markins, Terry Bradford, Louis "Pete” Kelley, Timothy Vallet, Matthew H. Jewell and Bart B. Morgan.
The parish stretches over some 600 square miles and is divided by the Mississippi River. With many waterways and recreational opportunities, Iberville enjoys a reputation as a haven for outdoor nature, hunting and fishing enthusiasts. It is home to several antebellum plantations and historic sites, which brings tourists form throughout the world to Iberville annually. Residents commonly refer to sections as south, east, central and north Iberville.

For more information on parish government agencies go to

Municipalities of the parish include Plaquemine, St. Gabriel, White Castle, Maringouin, Rosedale and Grosse Tete.